How Our Family Lives With The 17 Day Diet!

Another keeper! We all loved this recipe and wouldn’t change a thing!  Thanks to Stephanie over at A Year of Slow Cooking for this awesome and easy dish!  I meant to take a picture, but we were so hungry we gobbled it up! I will take one next time, I promise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Balsamic Chicken with Spring Vegetables

–4-6 boneless skinless frozen chicken thighs  (I used thigh strips since that is what the store had that day)

–1 whole head of garlic

–2 zucchinis

–2 yellow squash

–1 orange bell pepper

–1 yellow bell pepper

–1 red onion

–1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

–2 t Worcestershire sauce

–salt and pepper

Salt and pepper your chicken pieces. Mine were still frozen, so a lot of it fell off, so I had to just dump it on top.

Put the chicken into the crock.

Wash and cut all your vegetables and put into a mixing bowl. Peel the head of garlic, but keep the cloves intact.

Toss the vegetables with balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce.

Pour the vegetables on top of the meat.

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

I cooked this for 6 hours and the temp reading was right where I wanted it to be – 165 degrees.

We ate this on top of saffron rice and it was heavenly!

Comments on: "Savory Chicken in a Crock pot with Spring Vegetables" (4)

  1. Hi
    My wife and I finished phase 1 last saturday and are of course on to phase2. In phase 2 beans are allowed and a serving is 1/2 cup. My question is how many servings are we allowed per day and are they supposed to be eaten before 2 pm or are they okay for dinner?
    Thanks in advance-
    Dean
    RI

    • Hello Dean, congrats on completing Phase 1!

      In reading the 17 day diet book, it says that in the second cycle two natural starches are allowed per day. They prefer for you to eat your carbs before 2 pm, but we never seem to be able to do that at our house! When we prepare beef hamburgers, for example, we really want sweet baked potato fries! I am sure the diet would work better for us if we managed to get the carbs in earlier in the day, but we have still managed to lose over 42 pounds in 35 days.

      Good luck!

  2. Is the 42 pound weight loss between you and your husband or your son’s too? I am on day 21 and things are going well. Since you said the recipe was heavenly I am going to give it a whirl? I check your blog every day and thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Julie! Glad you are enjoying my blog. Yes, the 42+ pounds is for our whole family. I have lost over 12 pounds, my husband has lost 13 pounds, Nathan lost 8 (building lots of teen muscle though), and our younger son has lost over 10. We weigh in each Monday and on days immediately after the end of a cycle.

      Hope you enjoy the recipe and if you make any changes, please come back and share! Love to hear how yours turns out!

      Congrats on being on day 21, and keep on going!

Leave a comment